Sherbin Retires After 22 Years on Garrett College Board

Linda S. Sherbin, whose 22-year tenure on the Garrett College Board of Trustees included four terms as board chair, is retiring from the board effective June 30th.

“The progress of the College over the years is amazing, and I am glad I had an opportunity to be a part of it,” Sherbin wrote in her letter of resignation.

Don Morin, chair of the Garrett College Board of Trustees, lauded Sherbin’s positive impact on both the College and the board.

“We’re going to miss Linda’s wise counsel and unwavering commitment to the College,” said Morin, who has served on the board with Sherbin for the last 11 years. “She provided strong, consistent leadership for the College during her terms as board chair, and great insight throughout her years of service on the Board.”

Sherbin, who earned a law degree from the University of Baltimore in 1975, was originally appointed to the board by Governor Parris Glendening in 2000. She was reappointed by three successive governors of both parties – Bob Ehrlich, Martin O’Malley, and present Governor Larry Hogan – and is currently the longest-serving member of the board. Sherbin has worked with seven of Garrett College’s 13 presidents during her Board tenure.

Sherbin served as board chair from 2008 to 2012. During that time, the College designed and built the Community Aquatic and Recreation Complex (CARC), the CARC gymnasium and athletic offices, and acquired the Career Technology Training Center in Accident.

Photo by John Rudd Linda Sherbin, center front row, was honored for her 22 years of service on the Garrett College Board of Trustees at the board’s June 21st meeting. Sherbin recently announced her retirement from the board, effective June 30th. Pictured, left to right, back row, are Garrett College President Dr. Richard Midcap, Trustee Jason Rush, Trustee Duane Yoder, Board Chair Don Morin; and, front row, Trustee Karen Myers, Sherbin, and Board Vice-Chair Dr. Brenda McCartney.